Floriana FC crowned FA Trophy champions

Floriana are now level with Sliema Wanderers in number of FA Trophy wins

Floriana FC have been crowned the 2021/22 FA Trophy champions.

The greens managed to overcome arch rivals Valletta FC, in what was a tight contest.

Floriana opened the score line thanks to a Jan Busuttil’s 19th minute header. Valletta respond with an early second period penalty thanks to Mario Fontanella’s penalty.

The greens secured the match in the second period of extra time, having missed a penalty after Valletta player Rowen Muscat’s tackle.

Floriana are now level with Sliema in number of FA Trophy wins since its inception in 1933.

Floriana emerged victorious over 2021/22 domestic league champions Hibernians in the semi-final round last Wednesday with a score line of 2-1, despite picking up a red card in the 28th minute.

Valletta on the other hand booked their spot in the final having won against Santa Lucia FC on Tuesday following a 0-1 victory. Should Valletta emerge victorious, they will secure European football for next season.  

Sunday’s final wasfirst since the COVID-19 pandemic started, with the 2019/20 and 2020/21 editions both cancelled due to the pandemic. Current holders Balzan FC were crowned FA trophy champions after beating this year’s finalists Valletta during a penalty shootout.