Eurovision 2022: Malta fails to make it to the final night

Emma Muscat with ‘I Am What I Am’ fails to make it to the final of the Eurovision song contest in Turin

Emma Muscat on stage in Turin during one of the rehearsals before the second semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest (Photo: EBU/Corinne Cumming)
Emma Muscat on stage in Turin during one of the rehearsals before the second semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest (Photo: EBU/Corinne Cumming)

Updated at 11:15pm with results

Malta failed to qualify for the final night of the Eurovision song contest in Turin as Emma Muscat's energetic performance was not matched by her below par voice.

Emma took to the stage in the second semi-final on Thursday night but was not among the 10 songs that passed through to the final (see table below).

The 22-year-old singer-songwriter sang ‘I Am What I Am’. She started the song seated at her piano and then stood on top of it before moving across the stage and urging the audience to join her in the chorus. She was the sixth singer of the evening.

Betting odds were not too kind on Emma, who had been oscillating between 10th and 11th place.

By Thursday evening Emma had a 47% chance of qualifying to the Grand Final.

The overall favourite to win the song festival is Ukraine, represented by Kalush Orchestra. The group of singers may ride on a European sympathy wave in the wake of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. Russia was banned from the contest because of the war.

Emma sang on ‘home territory’, given her singing career in Italy. After her participation in the grand finale of Italian TV talent show Amici in 2018, Emma went on to capitalise on the success by signing a deal with Warner Music Italy.

Her debut album, Moments, reached the top three of the Italian albums chart, leading to opportunities to support the likes of Jason Derulo, Hailee Steinfeld, Sigala, Martin Garrix, Bebe Rexha and Ava Max.

Emma composes music, writes lyrics and is an accomplished pianist.

The 10 finalists from tonight will join the 10 who qualified last Tuesday for the final on Saturday, which will also see the participation of the Big Five – Italy, UK, Germany, France and Spain – that gain automatic qualification.

Televoting accounts for half the points.

Second semi-final running order (qualified for final in bold)

1. Finland – The Rasmus – Jezebel

2. Israel – Michael Ben David – I.M

3. Serbia – Konstrakta – In Corpore Sano

4. Azerbaijan – Nadir Rustamli – Fade To Black

5. Georgia – Circus Mircus – Lock Me In

6. Malta – Emma Muscat – I Am What I Am

7. San Marino – Achille Laura – Stripper

8. Australia – Sheldon Riley – Not The Same

9. Cyprus – Andromache – Ela

10. Ireland – Brooke – That’s Rich

11. North Macedonia – Andrea – Circles

12. Estonia – Stefan – Hope

13. Romania – WRS – Llamame

14. Poland – Ochman – River

15. Montenegro – Vladana – Breathe

16. Belgium – Jeremie Makiese – Miss You

17. Sweden – Cornelia Jakobs – Hold Me Closer

18. Czechia – We Are Domi – Lights Off

Qualified from first semi-final

1. Lithuania – Monika Liu – Sentimentai

2. Switzerland – Marius Bear – Boys Do Cry

3. Ukraine – Kalush Orchestra – Stefania

4. Netherlands – S10 – De Diepte

5. Moldova – Zdob si Zdub & Advahov Brothers – Trenuletul

6. Portugal – MARO – Saudade, Saudade

7. Iceland – Systur – Meo Haekkandi Sol

8. Greece – Amanda Georgiadi Tenfjord – Die Together

9. Norway – Subwoolfer – Give That Wolf A Banana

10. Armenia – Rosa Linn – Snap